Review: The Disenchantments by Nina LaCour

  
Reviewer: J

The Disenchantments is a perfect summer read! A mix of raw emotion and lighthearted moments make this book worthwhile. 

I loved this book’s cast of characters and felt like I really watched them develop over the course of the book. They felt very realistic to me, and I understood the protagonist Colby’s feelings and struggles. 

I also enjoyed the author’s writing style. It was descriptive and packed with imagery, but was never too tedious. I’ll definitely check out some of Nina LaCour’s other books. 

However, I do have some issues with the plot. The whole novel centered around one thing — Colby’s lust for Bev, his best friend. I wouldn’t normally have a problem with that, but when you drag it out for 300 pages, it can get kind of old. 

LaCour has created a memorable and original book that deserves much more appreciation than it has. 

Rating: 4 stars

2 thoughts on “Review: The Disenchantments by Nina LaCour

Leave a Reply

