Review: Tiger’s Curse by Colleen Houck

  
Reviewer: J

This book was so close to awesomeness. So, so close. But alas, there was one thing in its path: the writing. 

The writing was… simple, to say the least. The descriptions were flat, colorless, and dull, as were the dialogues. Because of that, it was extremely difficult for me to visualize what was happening. I suppose some readers might enjoy that style, but it was not for me. 

Complaints aside, I did love many aspects of this book. The plot was exciting and full of adventure. It managed to keep my attention over the course of the lengthy novel. 

And the mythological and cultural aspects were what drew me in the most. I loved the fact that the reader could glean a bit of information about Indian gods, goddesses and culture. 

Overall, I liked Tiger’s Curse for the most part, but it had a major problem for me. 

Rating: 3.5 stars

3 thoughts on “Review: Tiger’s Curse by Colleen Houck

  1. I understand the writing problem, and even though I didn’t particularly like that, I still ended up reading the whole series because of the characters and the story. Will you be reading Tiger’s Quest? And I just have to ask—are you team Ren or team Kishan? (for me, it’s always Ren 😀 )

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

