Review: Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern

  
Reviewer: J

This book was so cute! When I first picked it up, I thought it would be another Fault in Our Stars rip-off, but I ended up falling in love with the story and characters. 

Unlike TFIOS, this book didn’t have insta-love. I was very grateful for that, because insta-love/love at first sight is one of my bookish pet peeves. I liked seeing the two main characters, Amy and Matthew, develop a strong bond after everything they went through together. 

Also unlike TFIOS, the teen characters were actually realistic. I don’t mean to bash John Green here, but I’m just saying, these characters’ voices were funny and honest; they didn’t spout off random philosophical quotes. I loved how part of the book was written in letters, emails, notes, etc. — it tied the whole book together and gave the reader a glimpse into the characters’ minds. 

Overall, this book was a quirky, emotional read that was definitely worth all the hype. Take a bow, Cammie McGovern!

Rating: 4.5 stars

Leave a Reply

