Review: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

  
Reviewer: J

I’ll be honest with you: I didn’t expect to like this book. I was a bit confused as to why it was so popular, so I decided to see for myself. I’m really glad I gave it a chance! 

So, romance isn’t really my thing. I went into this book thinking that romance was the main focus, but I was wrong. This book centers partly on romance, yes, but also partly on family life. That was my favorite part. I loved seeing protagonist Lara Jean’s relationships with her 2 sisters strengthen and weaken. I also liked some of the cultural and diverse aspects this book had (Lara Jean is Korean-American.)

The writing was pretty decent. I liked it for the most part, especially the dialogue, but I think this book could’ve used a bit more description. The author frequently added unnecessary details, too, like what Lara Jean’s favorite ice cream flavor is. As a reader, you don’t need to know that. 

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is a light and fun summery read which I surprised myself by liking. 

Rating: 4 stars

4 thoughts on “Review: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

  1. I totally agree on this one! It’s a cute story but the best part about it is the way you get a picture of her life at home and at school and how it’s more about family in a lot of ways! Jenny Han is a pretty decent writer.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

