Review: Anatomy of a Misfit

  Reviewer: E                      August 2015

Anatomy of a Misfit was an “eh” read. 

It is about 15-year-old Anika, who is half-Romanian struggling to fit in as the third most popular girl in an all-American high school. I felt like the plot was not very smooth, sort of all over the place. It didn’t go anywhere,  I felt. It’s mainly about Anika having to choose between two boys. Sounds like a real superficial first word problem to me…just saying. 

The writing was good for the most part. It was overflowing with unique voice, which was nice. We see ourselves in Anika, at least for the beginning. I must say, there was a lot of dialogue. As in a lot. Sometimes I had no idea who was talking and just rolled with it. This book may have been better suited as a play. There is one recurring scene that is redundant to me, and you have no clue what it means until the very end. Still, Ms. Portes has a very unique style and her book was entertaining. 

The characters in Anatomy of a Misfit were unlikeable to me. I didn’t like any of the characters. Anika is really shallow and she is a homophobe who uses lots of slurs (the latter fact never being addressed). Logan and Jared were interchangeable and the same. They were both really creepy. Anika is all “I love Jared!” then she’s all “Logan is my only true love, oh my bleeding heart”. The main character’s relationships needed to be defined more. 

All in all, Anatomy of a Misfit is a light and fun read. If you like school dramas like Mean Girls, Clueless, Gossip Girl, and Gallagher Girls, you’ll like this book. 3/5 stars. ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 

2 thoughts on “Review: Anatomy of a Misfit

  1. I love the idea of a foreign student fitting into an American school, but this sounds like a missed opportunity. I just finished Everything I Never Told You–fantastic book about a half – Chinese girl fitting in at school…and much more.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

