Review: City of a Thousand Dolls by Miriam Forster

  
Reviewer: J

I have some mixed feelings about City of a Thousand Dolls, but ultimately, it was a worthwhile book. 

The first half of the book crawled along slowly and honestly, I considered DNF-ing it. But I’m glad I held on for a bit longer, because something completely changed during the second half. The prose was descriptive and colorful, the plot picked up more speed as more of the mystery was uncovered, the dialogue was more realistic… everything was just great! It was like the first and second half were 2 different books. 

I thought this book’s plot was very creative and didn’t feel forced or overdone. It’s marketed as fantasy, but it’s really more of a mystery in my opinion. Either way, it was enjoyable and more or less easy to follow. 

I also liked the setting/world building. The dynamic of “clans” gave it a very old-fashioned, cultural feel which I think many readers would enjoy. 

City of a Thousand Dolls was an overall great read for high fantasy lovers. 

Rating: 4 stars

2 thoughts on “Review: City of a Thousand Dolls by Miriam Forster

Leave a Reply

