Review: Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers

  
Reviewer: J

Grave Mercy is a decent read, with positives that slightly outweigh the negatives. 

When I first picked this up, I thought the premise seemed really fun and exciting, and I definitely wasn’t wrong about that! Indeed, the premise was exciting, but I felt like the plot didn’t live up to it. I mean, the main character is a trained assassin, so I expected this book to be a fast-paced, blood-soaked adventure, right? Wrong. The book centers a lot around unnecessary details instead. 

I know that so far it seems like I hated this, but trust me, I didn’t. There were some things I liked, for example the writing style. It was good and descriptive which I really enjoyed! I also liked how it felt very archaic and historical. 

Now, let’s talk about the main character, Ismae. In the beginning it was hard to connect with her, but as the book went on I felt like the author gave readers more of an inside view to Ismae’s inner self. I also thought it was great to have a strong female protagonist. 🙂

Overall, I don’t think I’ll be reading the next book, just because the series is super long, but the book was pretty good. 

Rating: 3.5 stars

3 thoughts on “Review: Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers

  1. I agree with your opinion on this book. It was a great idea, but I had a hard time connecting with the protagonist. I read the second book and ended up liking it significantly more than this one, but I don’t feel compelled enough to read book 3 which stars another protagonist.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

