Review: A Time to Dance by Padma Venkatraman

  
Reviewer: J

I went into this book knowing almost nothing about it, other than the fact that it was written by Padma Venkatraman, whom I like to joke is my “favorite author” because I hated her other book Climbing the Stairs so much. So when I saw this book at Barnes and Noble, I pretty much bought it as a joke. 

Anyway, I’m actually glad that I stayed so open-minded. I ended up really enjoying this! It’s written in gorgeous, flowing free verse poems, which added to the spiritual and philosophical themes of the book. 

I loved the historical/cultural elements of the book. They add some depth and realism to the story. I also loved the diverse cast of characters; the main character is disabled and many other characters are Indian/POC.

The book’s plot was so amazingly inspiring — any reader would love it! It’s about a girl who is a skilled dancer, but loses one of her legs in an accident and learns to accept herself and appreciate her talents. The book had many hidden meanings and bigger themed throughout. 

Overall, this is a great book that deserves way more popularity, so if you’re interested by this review, you should definitely add it to your to-read list. 🙂

Rating: 4.5 – 5 stars

Leave a Reply

