Review: Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

  
Reviewer: E 

First of all: forgive me, bloggers, for I have sinned. I haven’t been on in a while. \_(•-•)_/ And secondly, this picture is blurry because my phone is bullying me. 

Clockwork Angel is a prequel series to The Mortal Instruments, all of which I have read. It is set in the same demon-, vampire-, werewolf-infested world. It centers on (American) Tessa Gray, searching for her brother in Victorian era London. The plot did seem like an extended and slightly varied version of The Mortal Instruments. However, I really enjoyed the time period/setting. 

The writing was engaging and interesting. It was boring in some places; Ms. Clare seems to sometimes unnecessarily drag out bits of the story. 

The characters were very likable. Maybe not so realistic, but endearing. They were pretty 2D.

Clockwork Angel is a great book recommended to lovers of fantasy and historical fiction. I liked it better than it predecessor series. 4.5/5 stars. 

8 thoughts on “Review: Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

Leave a Reply

