Review: P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

  
Reviewer: J

Ugh. I’m tired of reading pointless YA romances. 

Honestly, I would’ve preferred if To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before had no sequel. I understand that the author wanted to cash in on the book’s success, et cetera, but the first book perfectly wrapped up everything. Seriously, an ending like that is rare and shouldn’t be messed with. 

Because of the unnecessariness (is that a word?) of the second book, the plot felt very draggy (again, word?). Romance, scandals, and *gasp* a love triangle? Those things work for some readers but not for me. 

This book was just a cute beach read. It’s enjoyable under the right circumstances but it lacks some substance and its charm wears away quickly. I know you’re probably saying, J, you hate romance! Why are you doing this to yourself? Blame E for recommending me them. The point is that I can’t really be trusted with accurate opinions on romance books because most of them less than entertain me. 

This was a decent read that a more dedicated fan of Jenny Han would enjoy.

Rating: 3 stars

11 thoughts on “Review: P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

  1. I think you and I probably having the same opinions on romance books. Thanks for writing this. I have way too many books to read to get stuck in one that I’d subpar.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This doesn’t bode well – I was planning on reading this, hoping it would at least boost my feelings about this series. I felt the first book was perfectly average, so I don’t think I’ll be investing in the sequel anytime soon. I’m probably a bit like you, and many romance novels make me cringe (though I more than welcome some romance as a happy little side plot in any good story).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ha! You’re not the only one. I’m anti-romance but it seems someone always recommend one to me and I fall into the trap of reading it and then I wind up hating it. Now because of your review I’m hesitant to start these two books. Oh well I guess I need to be in the mood.

    Really enjoyed your review. I hate it has a love triangle and the point of the book seems unnecessary but you know how some authors and publishing companies are. If something is good the first time it’s surely will be good the next time so let’s make sequel or trilogy.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I really enjoyed the first book by Han…but I agree. I was actually a little surprised that there was going to be a sequel, why? Even as I read this one, I kept thinking how I wished the ending of the first book had just be that: the ending. I agree with you completely on this review and I am glad that someone else thought this!! I kept seeing all this hype for the book & I was so confused, it just wasn’t as good as the first one !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

