Review: Lumière by Jacqueline Garlick

  
Disclaimer: I received this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. 

Reviewer: J

I was a little disappointed in this book. It had many great elements to it but it was all ruined by one thing. 

This book’s premise seemed interesting. Steampunk isn’t a genre I’ve explored much but I’ve always been interested in it. But sadly the book didn’t exactly stay true to the premise because it was overshadowed by the romance about halfway into the book. 

Anyway I did love the plot for the most part! During the first half the storyline was a mix of steampunk, fantasy, and historical fiction. I thought that worked really well and turned out to be surprisingly intriguing. 

I also thought the protagonist was fairly likeable and a good narrator for the story, although she could be a little immature and apathetic at times. 

As you can see, I was loving all of those aspects to the story! But the romance was so forced, so unrealistic, and so cheesy that it destroyed the appeal for me. Plus it all happened so fast, like the two characters went from strangers to dating in practically no time at all. 

That one major flaw has caused me to deduct 2 stars unfortunately. 

Rating: 3 stars

5 thoughts on “Review: Lumière by Jacqueline Garlick

  1. I am ashamed to admit it but I had never heard of Steampunk before now. I never studied it at University so it was like err… what? as I read your review. Now I have read what it means I re read the review. Hehehe I learnt something new today!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

