Review: Noir by Jacqueline Garlick

  
Reviewer: J

I received a copy of this book from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review. 

I have to say I went into this book expecting to hate it, but I ended up liking it more than I liked the first book in the series. 

Why, I really don’t know. I just thought the first book, Lumière, was like an appetizer to Noir‘s entrée. I can only hope the finale will be a dessert. (Please excuse my terrible analogy.)

This book was very fast-paced and had a lot of action which I was not anticipating. Unfortunately, because so many things happened, it was hard to keep track of the storyline. And it didn’t help that I had many unanswered questions about the plot. 

In addition, the end of the book, to put it honestly, bored me greatly. Huh, I’m feeling a little sleepy… maybe I should just put down the book and never read it again? Yeah, sounds good. As much as I wanted to do that, I am glad that I powered through because I’m excited for the third book to come out, if there is going to be one. 

I also thought some of the characters introduced in the previous installment developed and changed which is always good. 

This novel had many pros and cons but overall I did enjoy it and I think you should check out this little-known series and show it some love. 🙂
Rating: 4 stars

2 thoughts on “Review: Noir by Jacqueline Garlick

Leave a Reply

