Review: The Casquette Girls by Alys Arden


Reviewer: J

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. 

So… this is the first eARC that I’ve ever gotten approved for! I’m such a popular blogger 😉 I’m still sort of in shock that it happened. *happy dance* But unfortunately, I was let down. Big time.

The book starts off with a pointless, meandering plot. It’s about an average girl named Adele who lives in an average house with her average father. I’m not saying the book should’ve been full of unrealistic, too-perfect life but there has to be something there, something special to grab in the reader. This book’s lead definitely did not grab me.

The story continues like that for another 200 pages or so. Then things started to get a little interesting. But mostly confusing.

I don’t want to spoil anything but that interesting thing has something to do with vampires. But I was absolutely perplexed throughout that whole sub-plot. First of all, the paranormal and fantasy elements were not explained. As in at all. It’s just one day one of the characters discovers they have magical powers… and continues on with their normal life. Anyway, maybe it was just me but it made the story so hard to follow. Ugh.

But I did like the main character for the most part. She was nice enough and didn’t make any annoyingly stupid decisions, which you probably know is my bookish pet peeve. A winner in my book. 🙂

So the characters add on a star. I was not the biggest fan of this book and I can’t say I highly recommend, but I do appreciate the author’s effort a lot (I don’t have the page count, but this monster of a book took me so long to finish so I assume it’s pretty long.) If you regularly read and enjoy paranormal fiction and paranormal romance then maybe you could give this book a try on November 17!

Rating: 2 stars

2 thoughts on “Review: The Casquette Girls by Alys Arden

Leave a Reply

