Review: Just Visiting by Dahlia Adler

Buy Just Visiting on Amazon

Reviewer: J

Disclaimer: A copy of this book was sent to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

On the back of this book, one critic claims it to be “magical.” I had no idea how true that would become.

On one hand, I absolutely love the two main characters, their internal conflicts, and their relationship. All of that was amazingly crafted and brilliant. So I’ll talk about the good things first before I drop the one negative bomb I have.

This book felt like a modern twist on the classic “best friend road trip” plotline. Instead of the usual life changing spiritual journey, these girls are simply going on a college visit. That felt surprisingly normal and more realistic than most of these types of novels do.

It was also great that so many topics were dealt with in this book. The characters don’t live perfect lives; Reagan and her mother are struggling to make ends meet and Victoria struggles with her identity and being Mexican in a white-dominated small town. There are also many other secrets to both of the girls, but you won’t find that out until the end 😉

So, the amazing friendship was a pretty big plus for me. But here’s my concern. Are you ready? I’m about to put this author’s head in the slammer. (Not really. This book is a great one and I’m basically nitpicking here.) Okay. I wanted more pizazz. I know that sounds super stereotypical (and also oddly similar to an overenthusiastic teacher) but it’s kind of true. Yes, it was more original and unique than most road trip books, but I don’t know, I just thought the storyline fell a hair short of perfection.

But all in all, this was an amazing and thoughtful book. Use the link at the beginning of the review to preorder it, or purchase it once it comes out in November! Also, thank you to Spencer Hill Contemporary for giving us our first physical ARC! Ok, I’m done rambling. *drops mic* J, out!

Rating: 4.5 stars

Leave a Reply

