Comparing Before and After: Ash and Bramble by Sarah Prineas

I keep seeing Before and After posts from Overflowing Bookshelves, and it’s such a cool idea that I can’t resist trying  one myself! I hope that’s okay. Anyway, let’s go!

So back in the summer (July 29, to be exact), I listed Ash and Bramble by Sarah Prineas for my Want to Read Wednesday pick. I said:

  “I’m obsessed with fairy tale retellings, so I’ll be very quick to read this. Also, when I was younger I adored the Winterling series by this author!”

Now that I’ve read it, I have to say that my expectations were a bit too high for this one. Some of the plot was really confusing and fuzzy and never got explained, but I did like the interesting magical realism elements, and it felt fairly different from the original Cinderella tale. And the writing was pretty bomb. 

xx J ❤️

6 thoughts on “Comparing Before and After: Ash and Bramble by Sarah Prineas

Leave a Reply

