Review: Salvage by Alexandra Duncan

  
Reviewer: J

I’m actually really sad about this, because I was waiting excitedly for this book to become available at the library and I couldn’t wait to start reading. But honestly, I didn’t like this book very much (though I was in denial for a long time 😬)

So, this book… I don’t really know what didn’t work. I think it’s because I felt like it was trying too hard to follow YA trends and to appeal to teens. This is one of those books that has their own secret language that is never explained at all, so be warned! Don’t you just hate it when books do that? And the names, God they were terrible. It’s like, whose first name is 5 words long? Ugh. I think this book had a lot of potential but the author played it too safe. I say, taking just a little more risks and being original could’ve done wonders for the book. 

But it did have some cool feminist, sci-if kind of elements going on, but unfortunately those weren’t really explored much. 

Also the protagonist kind of annoyed me. She just was way too trusting of everyone, I can’t really explain it but yeah…

Anyway, if like me you’re psyched for this book, I honestly wouldn’t recommend it, as terrible as it sounds. I might read the sequel though, just to see if it gets any better. 

Rating: 2 stars

Leave a Reply

