Review: The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

  
Reviewer: J

The Murder Complex was an okay read that I liked, but had a few negative aspects to it. 

My main issue with this was the overwhelming similarities it had to other popular YA dystopians like Hunger Games and Divergent. The plot just felt really overdone, and that made it much easier to predict what was going to happen. 

Also, it took a really long time to get the ball rolling. It’s fair to say that nothing happens for a good quarter of the book. However, once it did get started, I found it to be fast-paced and exciting. 

I did love some of the writing! There were many beautifully written quotes sprinkled throughout which I appreciated. 

I also enjoyed seeing the main character Meadow’s relationships with her family and friends develop. I can’t say the same about the other main character Zephyr, though. His character felt sort of flat and bland. 

Overall, I liked this book for the most part, but it has some areas that need work. If you’re looking for an action-packed dystopia, you’d probably enjoy this. 

Rating: 3 stars

2 thoughts on “Review: The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

  1. *groans* If I see another THG lookalike I will quit dystopia forever lmaoo. But I’m glad you had aspects you liked about the book!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment